The Upstate Theater Coalition for a Fairgame Announces Fairgame Arts Grants

SCHENECTADY, N.Y.—FEB. 8, 2019—The Upstate Theater Coalition for a Fairgame is pleased to announce Fairgame Arts Grants, a new funding opportunity for non-profit arts and cultural organizations in three New York state regions—Capital, Catskills and Southern Tier.

Organizations based in 27 counties* are eligible to apply for grants from $1,000–$5,000.

The Upstate Theater Coalition for a Fairgame was created in partnership with casinos in the three gaming regions: Rivers Casino & Resort Schenectady, Resorts World Catskills, del Lago Resort & Casino and Tioga Downs Casino Resort. Coalition members are: Bardavon Presents (Poughkeepsie), Bethel Woods Center for the Arts (Bethel), Clemens Center (Elmira), Forum Theatre (Binghamton), Palace Performing Arts Center (Albany), Proctors (Schenectady), Rochester Broadway Theatre League’s Auditorium Theatre (Rochester), Saratoga Performing Arts Center, Saratoga Springs City Center, State Theatre of Ithaca, Times Union Center (Albany) and Troy Savings Bank Music Hall.

Each member is dedicated to enriching its surroundings, presenting the finest live events available, fostering education and offering affordability.

Through its community commitment, the coalition created Fairgame Arts Grants, a funding program to support organizations in associated regions. In announcing the grant opportunity Fairgame board president Chris Silva, executive director, Bardavon Presents, said, “When we launched Fairgame in 2014, funding for local arts organizations in the vicinity of the casinos was an integral part of the plan. These grants, which make good on that promise, will help ensure the cultural health of each region, maintain engagement with the creative economy and reflect a positive by-product of gaming revenues.”

The deadline for grant applications is Friday, March 15. Grant guidelines and application forms can be found at For more information, contact

*Capital Region: Albany, Fulton, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, and Washington counties. Catskills Region: Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Greene, Orange, Putnam, Sullivan, and Ulster counties. Southern Tier: Broome, Chemung, Monroe, Ontario, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Wayne, and Yates counties.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s